img_7638

As the festive season begins with so much joy we get loads of fruits, offer it to god and after 2 days the  gracefully arranged  fruits starts staring at your face. That’s when I start to think of making something with it to finish it fast before it gets musty. Some fruits that have less shelf life will be consumed first the remaining ones get a make-over. This time it was after Ganesh Chaturthi that we had  a lot of fruits. So, each fruit gets its turn 😉

Tackling Oranges – Komala Kheer, Pears – Instant Pickle , Apple – Rabri, Grapes – Gojju , Plums – jam/lemonade

Komala Kheer

img_7620

I had seen this recipe on Internet and liked it immediately. I wanted to try it someday as i was very curious to know how it would taste because I had picturised oranges only in Juices, cakes, marmalade, jams but not with MILK. After the festival I thought it was a good idea to try it now as I had all the ingredients required.

The oranges I had on hand were slightly sour. I was apprehensive about trying it with these oranges as the recipe mentioned ,sweeter the oranges better the taste. I thought i could add a couple more spoons of sugar. But the oranges is the main component which gives the taste, Would it make sense to try it?
Yes of course!
I’m not going to listen to my brain anyway. Its going to be an experiment nobody would penalise me for making a slightly sour kheer (really?). I took a chance and started making! To my utter surprise It did not FAIL. It was filled with flavours and so fragrant. The orange pulp had absorbed the flavours from the milk and tasted so excellent.Every bite was so juicy and refreshing.The sourness from oranges was not noticeable at all . Its sure going to be made often not just after festivals as a make-over for oranges.

img_7666

Ingredients:

3-4 Oranges , Remove the rind and membranous content thoroughly. Use only the PULP.
1 teaspoon cardamom powder
3/4 Litre milk (full fat or low fat)
8-10 strands saffron
1 cup sugar (or according to taste)
Pistachios OR any other nuts for garnishing

Serves 6-7 people

Method:

1. Separate the pulp and cut into small pieces. Keep the juice from orange separate.
2. In a heavy bottom pan boil milk on medium flame. Scrap the sides of the pan often to avoid sticking and having strands of malai in kheer. (unless you prefer it)
3. Once it reaches rolling boil add sugar and stir well. Keep boiling for another 4 minutes.
4. Add cardamom and saffron and boil for another 4 minutes.
5. Remove from flame and let it cool completely. Otherwise when you add oranges the milk will curdle. That’s the last thing you want it to happen.
6. After its cooled transfer the pulp & juice of orange and stir well.
7. Refrigerate for 3-4 hours. Garnish with pistachios and serve.

You can now enjoy the goodness of Orange!!

img_7680

TIP:
–  You can keep boiling the milk till it reduces to half its quantity and then add oranges OR add a teaspoon of Cornflour to milk and boil till its thickened. I dint do any of these as I liked the consistency of kheer as is.
–  You can use Condensed milk instead of Sugar as well, it also helps thickening the kheer.

